Windows Shutdown

Seriously Windows, this has been annoying me for quite some time now. I’m occasionally forced to use Microsoft Windows for an OS (I much prefer life in Ubuntu), and more often than not, when I go to Shutdown the machine the little yellow icon appears in the menu informing the user than Updates need to be installed. (Is there another option to click to avoid installing the updates?)

Unfortunately for me this happened tonight. I choose Shut Down because I wanted to switch my laptop off and head home for the night. I’m now sat here 20 minutes later because I can’t turn my laptop off, or store it securely overnight, waiting for Windows to update itself – currently still on Update 1 of 33.

Seriously – Shut Down should mean Shut Down. Not please wait (for a long time) whilst I do something.

Leave a Reply

