Simple Bug Tracking System

A new little project for myself, which I’m hopefully going to blog fully – to try and get some feedback from people out there as I go.

I haven’t used a bug tracking system for a while. My new workplace doesn’t appear to have one in place, my previous place of work tended to have so few bugs that things were resolved as soon as they came in. The place before that did, and it similar functionality to that system that I’m going to attempt to replicate.

This system most certainly won’t be all singing and dancing. There are likely to be some key functionality that I may miss. Initially I’m going to design it with just myself in mind as the sole end-user, but give some growth to it so it could be deployed to the rest of the team.

If I was to implement this myself today for a customer I’d probably do it in .NET with SQL Server as the backend. However as I’m using this as a learning exercise, I’m going to implement it with Java (probably using Swing), and a MySQL backend. I’m going to attempt to increase my knowledge of Java Persistence API as well for the database interaction.

I’m spent a few minutes over lunch planning an overall structure, and maybe the tasks I’m going to have to undertake (and approximately the order of implementation) to get things going.

High-Level Database Design

I think I’ve identified 4 tables in total, namely Bugs, Area, User, BugStatus.

Bugs

Id [Primary Key]
Description [varchar]
Area [Foreign Key to the Area table]
Owner [Foreign Key to the User table]
Status [Foreign Key to the BugStatus table]
Fix [varchar]
Date raised [date/timestamp]
Date closed [date / timestamp]

Raiser [Foreign Key to the User table]

Area

Id [Primary Key]
Area [varchar]

User

Id [Primary Key]
Name [varchar]

BugStatus

Id [Primary Key]
Status [varchar]

High Level GUI Design

Mock Up Diagram

Bug Tracker Mock Up

High Level Task List

1. Create Database structure.
2. Create Application GUI.
3. Add ‘Add Bug’ functionality.
4. Add’Update Bug’ functionality.
5. Provide search and lookup filters.
6. Provide Admin Functions – User admin and Area admin

One thought on “Simple Bug Tracking System

  1. Pingback: Simple Bug Tracker – Database Structure « Gregor Bowie's Blog

Leave a Reply

